iPhone and iPad Passcode Lock Erase Data Option

Written by Worldhide on August 15, 2021 in Uncategorized with no comments.

I recently carried out a test on my own iPhone to increase my iPhone training. The experiment was, I triggered the “Erase Data” function on my own iPhone. In the next few paragraphs I am going to explain precisely what occurred and what you could expect.

Here is what I did. I went to (Settings > General > Passcode Lock) and turned “Erase Data” to “On”. I then backed up my iPhone to iCloud and to iTunes. And then finally, typed in the wrong passcode ten times.

Okay, I really typed it six times when the big red “iPhone Disabled Try again in 1 minute” popped up. Once the minute went by, I attempted it once more and it locked for 5 minutes. My 8th effort got me a 15 minute wait. And my ninth and 10th attempt equally received a 60 minute “iPhone Disabled” delay time. I was required to submit an incorrect passcode the eleventh time before it ultimately wiped all my data.

Just one side note. I attempted to interrupt the lock-out by means of both a soft reset and also a hard reset. Neither of the 2 worked. I also reviewed the Find My iPhone situation through iCloud and was successfully allowed to track down my iPhone. I then activated the “Play Sound and Send Message” selection through Find My iPhone. The music played, though no message was shown.

So following about three hours of attempting to trip the “Erase Data” function, I was at last successful. My iPhone restarted to a brand new out of the box iPhone. This is the place where this becomes frightening… at least in my experience.

I strolled over the steps for setting it up. Selected my language, Country, and Location Services preference. It then brought me to a “Wi-Fi Networks” display which enabled me to pick a WiFi network. iphone 11 pro

On the bottom of the “Wi-Fi Networks” panel was a selection to “Connect to iTunes”. This went away right after my iPhone 4s got back service. It then transformed to “Connect using cellular”. I decided to connect using cellular.

I was then given 3 possibilities: Set up as a brand new phone, Restore from iCloud backup, or Restore from iTunes backup. I decided to handle the installation as a new iPhone. I then typed my wife’s iCloud details.

Sure enough, my iPhone 4s, or what was previously my phone, was at this point setup and useable to somebody different. I could call people from it and then use it just as anyone that had ripped off my iPhone would have been able to utilize it.

Dreading the worst, I tried to locate it through Find My iPhone. Just like I assumed, my iPhone was no longer capable of being located through my account. However, I was able to track down my iPhone 4S within my spouse’s iCloud account.

In order to get my iPhone 4S back to, well, being my own once more, I visited Settings > General > Reset and tapped “Erase All Content and Settings”. Upon being asked if I was certain 2 times, the iPhone 4S wiped and rebooted. I subsequently set up my phone and restored it from my iCloud file backup.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *